Parents Zone


Assessment and Qualifications

Assessment and Qualifications

The New Zealand Qualifications Authority (NZQA) offers NCEA and Scholarship examinations.

About NCEA

About NCEA

The National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) is the main national qualification for secondary school students in New Zealand. Each year students study a number of courses or subjects. In each subject a number of standards are offered. These may be internally or externally assessed. When a student achieves a standard they receive a number of Achieved, Merit or Excellence credits.

There are three levels of NCEA:

Level 1 – the majority of Year 11 students will complete standards towards this level. At Western Heights High School Year 10 extension students may be offered the opportunity to sit some Level 1 standards. Students require 80 credits at any level to achieve Level 1 and must also meet the literacy and numeracy requirements.

Level 2 – the majority of Year 12 students will complete standards towards this level. Students require 20 Level 1 credits (carried forward from the previous year) and 60 credits from Level 2 or above to achieve Level 2.

Level 3 – the majority of Year 13 students will complete standards towards this level. Students require 20 Level 2 credits (carried forward from the previous year) and 60 Level 3 credits to achieve Level.

Students are recognised for high achievement at each level by gaining NCEA with Merit or NCEA with Excellence. High achievement in a course is also recognised.

Western Heights High School offers an information evening for caregivers in the first term. This will be advertised through school newsletters, website and social media.

NCEA Assessments

NCEA Assessments

Internally Assessed Standards

Students may be required to complete internally assessed standards at any time throughout the year. All students should be issued with a course guide which will give an indication of when the assessments will take place and what type of assessment will be used – research assignment, test, seminar etc.

Externally Assessed Standards

Externally Assessed Standards

NZQA examinations are held in November and December for externally assessed standards


New Zealand Qualifications Authority (NZQA)

For full information click here NZQA timetable 2019


For full information click here

School Examinations

Prelim Examinations

Cambridge International Examinations (Zone 6)

June's Examination Timetable November's Examination Timetable coming soon

ABOUT – Scholarships

Scholarship provides recognition and monetary reward to top students in their last year of schooling

Scholarship exams enable candidates to be assessed against challenging standards, and are demanding for the most able candidates in each subject.

Scholarship candidates are expected to demonstrate high-level critical thinking, abstraction and generalisation, and to integrate, synthesise and apply knowledge, skills, understanding and ideas to complex situations.

ABOUT – Cambridge

Cambridge International Examinations

Year 10, 11, 12 and 13 students may be offered the opportunity to Cambridge International Examinations in Business Studies, English, Mathematics and Sciences. Students are invited into these courses and a high level of diligence is required for success.